FESPACO 2015: Maïmouna N’Diaye dedicates her prize to women worldwide



The Police Inspector, Malika, in the Burkinabe television series “Super Flics“, Maïmouna N’Diaye was crowned best actress at Fespaco 2015.

Last Saturday in Ouagadougou, the main actress of the movie “L’œil du cyclone” (The eye of the cyclone) dedicated her prize to all women worldwide within the framework of the International Women’s Day, commemorated on Sunday, 8th March.

It is a great recognition for me and my work and I dedicate this trophy to all women, all female comedians at the eve of 8th March“, declared the Senegalese comedian.

In the movie, the Senegalese actress played the role of strong minded lawyer in a delicate justice case. She succeeded in shading light on a child soldier and diamond traffic case in which her father was involved.

We should note that “L’œil du cyclone” was crowned Bronze standard of the official prizes and the ECOWAS integration prize and the Oumarou Ganda prize.

The work won on Friday 2 special prizes (Sembène Ousmane prize and that of the WAEMU integration).

Doors closed last Saturday on the 24th edition of the FESPACO under the theme: “African Cinema: Production and broadcasting in the digital technology era“, with Egypt as guest of honor country.

Here as below the complete official prize list drawn up by the APA news agency:


– Gold: «Fièvres» by Hicham Ayouch (Morocco)
– Silver: «Fadhma N’Soumer» by Belkacem Hadjadj (Algeria)
– Bronze: «L’œil du cyclone» by Sékou Traoré (Burkina Faso)
– Best actress Prize: Maimouna N’diaye in «L’œil du cyclone» by Sékou Traoré (Burkina Faso)
– Best actor Prize: Fargass Assande in «L’œil du cyclone» by Sékou Traoré (Burkina Faso)
– Paul Robeson Prize (Best movie from the diaspora): «Morbayassa, le serment de Koumba» by Cheik Fantamady Camara (Guinea-Conakry)
– Oumarou Ganda Prize (Best first work): «L’œil du cyclone» by Sékou Traoré (Burkina Faso)
– Best script Prize: Marcel Beaulieu for «Fadhma N’Soumer» by Belkacem Hadjadj (Algeria)
– Best picture Prize: Ali Benjelloun for «C’est eux les chiens» by Hicham Lasri (Morocco)
– Best sound Prize: Phillipe Grivel and Dominique Vieillard for «Fadhma N’Soumer» by Belkacem Hadjadj
– Best music Prize: Amine Bouhafa for «Timbuktu» by Abderrahmane Sissako (Mauritania)
– Best scenery Prize: Sébastien Birchler for «Timbuktu» byAbderrahmane Sissako (Mauritania)
– Best editing Prize: Isabele Devinck for «Fadhma N’Soumer» by Belkacem Hadjadj (Algeria)
– Best poster Prize: “Cellule 512″ by Missa Hébié (Burkina Faso)


– Best fiction film Prize: «Sagar» by Pape Abdoulaye Seck (Audiovisual college, Morocco)
– Best documentary film: «Je danse, donc je suis» by Aïssata Ouarma (Audiovisual Institute, Burkina Faso)
– Special Prize for jury: «The Traveller» by Peter Sedufia (NAFTI, Ghana)


– Gold: «De l’eau et du sang» byAbdelilah Eljaouhary (Morocco)
– Silver: «Madame Esther» by Luck Razanajoana (Madagascar)
– Bronze: «Zakaria» by Leyla Bouzid (Tunisia)


– First prize: «Miners Shot Down» by Rehad Desai (South Africa)
– Second prize: «Devoir de mémoire» by Mahmadou Cissé (Mali)
– Third prize: «Tango Negro, les origines africaines du tango» by Dom Pedro (Angola)


– Best TV series Prize: «Chroniques africaines» by Marie-Christine Amon (Ivory Coast)
– Special Prize for jury: «Eh les hommes, Eh les femmes» by Apolline Traoré (Burkina Faso)


– ECOWAS intégration special Prize: «L’œil du cyclone» by Sékou Traoré (Burkina Faso)
– ECOWAS best West African female director: «Des étoiles» by Dyana Gaye
– European Union prize: «Avant le printemps» by Ahmed Atef (Egypt)
– Conseil de l’Entente prize: «Run» by Philippe Lacôte (Ivory Coast).

Appreciate Mouna N’Diaye in one of the episodes of Super Flics

YouTube Preview Image


Original text by: Blaise AKAME

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *