African Union: The Togolese Edem Kodjo acceding to the committee of wise men

44 total views, 2 views today


During the 23rd ordinary summit of the African Union (AU) held in Malabo (Equatorial Guinea) on 26th and 27th June 2014, the Committee of Wise Men of the institution renewed its members.

The new team is composed of the Algerian Lakhdar BRAHIMI (for North Africa), the Togolese Edem KODJO (for West Africa), the Angolan Dr Albina Faria de Assis Pereira Africano (for Central Africa), the Mozambican Dr Luisa Diogo (for the Southern Africa) and the Ugandan Dr Specioza Naigaga Wandira Kazibwe (for East Africa).

The new members of this « COMMITTEE OF WISE MEN » will take office in September 2014 further to a ceremony that will take place in the office of the AU in Addis Ababa.

The committee of wise men is considered as one of the backgrounds of the continental Architecture of peace and safety. Its creation was planned by the Protocol concerning the creation of the Council of Peace and Safety (CPS) of the African Union.

As a reminder, the Togolese Edem KODJO was already General Secretary of the African Union (from 1978 to 1983, OAU at that time). In Togo, he was several times Prime Minister before the creation of the « PAX AFRICANA » Foundation (Pan-African Forum for Peace and Development) that he chairs.

Réagissez sur:

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. Apprenez comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.