Freelances, plus forts ensemble.
Accueil / Country / West Africa / Nigeria / Literature: 39 African authors appointed for the writing of an anthology

Literature: 39 African authors appointed for the writing of an anthology

Partagez ceci :


The Nobel Prize in Literature (1986), Wole Soyinka will introduce the anthology that will draft the 39 authors of less than 40 years old selected for the final phase of the Africa 39 project. The initiative results from the collaboration between the Hay Festival of Literature & the Arts Ltd of the United Kingdom and the Rainbow Reading Club of Port-Harcourt, Nigeria.

The choice of the Nigerian city, Port-Harcourt as the world capital town of the book by Unesco is an opportunity for the African continent to promote its young authors who will bear the torch of the African literature.

A total of 120 short stories and extracts from fiction books were selected by the jury including major figures of literature as Elechi Amadi, Tess Onwueme and Margaret Busby. The authors of the 39 works selected at the end of this new stage will participate in the writing of the anthology that will be published at Ella’s Allfrey’s (OBE).

The work will be officially published in October 2014 and will be presented at the book fair of Port-Harcourt. The event was intended to writers, booksellers, literary experts, other actors of the literary industry will promote the African literature.

The list of the 39 appointed writers:

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria);

Richard Ali A Mutu (Democratic Republic of Congo);

Monica Arac de Nyeko (Uganda);

Rotimi Babatunde (Nigeria);

Eileen Barbosa (Cape Verde);

A Igoni Barrett (Nigeria);

Jackee Budesta Batanda (Uganda);

Recaredo Silevo Boturu (Equatorial Guinea);

Nana Brew-Hammond (Ghana/USA);

Shadreck Chikoti (Malawi);

Edwige Renée Dro (Ivory Coast);

Tope Folarin (Nigeria/USA);

Clifton Gachagua (Kenya);

Stanley Gazemba (Kenya);

Mehul Gohil (Kenya);

Hawa Jande Golakai (Liberia);

Shafinaaz Hassim (South Africa);

Abubakar Adam Ibrahim (Nigeria);

Stanley Onjezani Kenani (Malawi/Switzerland);

Dinaw Mengestu (Ethiopia/USA);

Nadifa Mohamed (Somalia/UK);

Nthikeng Mohlele (South Africa);

Linda Musita (Kenya);

Sifiso Mzobe (South Africa);

Glaydah Namukasa (Uganda);

Kioko Ndinda (Kenya);

Okwiri Oduor (Kenya);

Ukamaka Olisakwe (Nigeria);

Ondjaki (Born in Luanda but living in Rio, Brazil);

Chibundu Onuzo (Nigeria);

Nii Ayikwei Parkes (Ghana/UK);

Taiye Selasi (Ghana/Nigeria/UK/Italy);

Namwali Serpell (Zambie/US);

Lola Shoneyin (Nigeria);

Novuyo Rosa Tshuma (Zimbabwe/South Africa);

Chika Unigwe (Nigeria/Belgium/US);

Zukiswa Wanner (Zambia/South Africa/Zimbabwe/Kenya);

Mary Watson (South Africa/Irland)

Mohamed Yunus Rafiq (Tanzania)


Original text by: Roger ADZAFO

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Traduction »