Accueil / Country / Central Africa / Equatorial Guinea / Unesco Prize Equatorial Guinea: prize-winners known!

Unesco Prize Equatorial Guinea: prize-winners known!

Partagez ceci :


The Director of Unesco, Irina Bokova, was announced on Monday, 15th September 2014 in Malabo (Equatorial Guinea) for the delivery of the Unesco prize for researches in life sciences. The event that is at its second edition, rewards researches aiming at improving living conditions of populations in developing countries. The President Téodoro Obiang Nguema Mbazogo of Equatorial Republic of Guinea endows the prize with an envelope for 300.000 US dollars.

After Paris, Malabo welcomed the second edition of the Unesco Prize Equatorial Guinea. In order to celebrate the event, various African countries were represented on Monday in Guinean capital town. Professor Henriette Dagri-Diabaté, Great Chancellor of the National Order will represent Ivory Coast President, Alassane Ouattara while Gabon will be represented by its Prime Minister, Professor Daniel Ona Ondo.

For this edition, three candidates were selected for the final phase of the prize. They are:

• Professor Hossein BAHARVAND (Iran), Professor for Stem cells and biology of the development at the Royan Institute of biology, for his contribution to the development of resources on stem cells and the translational research leading to applications in regenerative medicine.

• Professor André BATIONO (Burkina Faso), scientist for soils and President of the Action for integrated development. Professor BATIONO was chosen for his contribution to the improvement of agriculture in Africa through his basic research in the management of the soils fertility.

• The Institute for Tropical Medicine of Humboldt (IMT), the University of Peru that was founded in 1986 having as mission to promote education and research on tropical diseases the most spread in Peru. This Institute was nominated for its contribution to the elaboration of measures for fight against diseases such as tuberculosis, malaria, leishmaniose, leptospirosis, HIV / AIDS, HTLV-1 and intestinal diseases.

The prize-winners of the first edition were Maged Al Sherbiny from Egypt, Félix Dapare Dakora from South Africa and Rossana Arroyo Verastegui from Mexico.


Original text by: Roger ADZAFO


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Traduction »