Freelances, plus forts ensemble.
Accueil / Politics / Togo: Faure Gnassingbé winner of the presidential election

Togo: Faure Gnassingbé winner of the presidential election

Partagez ceci :

000_Par8107896_0 (1)

The outgoing president, Faure Essozimna Gnassingbé, the candidate of UNIR political party was declared winner of the presidential election of last 25th April in Togo.

He was reelected at 58.75 % of the valid votes against 34.95 % for his major opponent, Jean-Pierre Fabre of CAP 2015. The Togolese leader thus legally got a third term.

The temporary results of this ballot were published on Tuesday, 28th April in the evening by the Independent National Electoral commission (CENI).

A proclamation that occurred after a meeting with an ECOWAS presidential delegation composed of the Ghanaian, John Mahama and the Ivorian, Alassane Ouatara.

« The final results will be proclaimed by the Constitutional court within the next days« , underlined Taffa Tabiou, the chairman of the CENI.

The abstention rate in the vote amounts to 40.01 % against 35.32 % during the presidential election of 2010.

Kindly note that the representatives of CAP 2015 within the CENI commission did not attend the proclamation of the results. The latter denounced an electoral hold-up.

Temporary results of the Presidential election of 25th April 2015 by the CENI:

Total registers: 3 509 258

Voters: 2 105 051

Valid votes: 2 066 997

Jean-Pierre Fabre: 34.95 %

Mouhamed Tchassona Traoré: 0.99 %

Gerry Taama: 1.06 %

Aimé Gogué: 3.08 %

Faure Gnassingbé: 58.75 %

Original text by:Blaise AKAME

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Traduction »